What does your “About Us” say about you?

Earlier in my career, I worked for a small community bank as a personal banker and loan officer.  As you can imagine, we had a lot of small businesses that banked with us.  It was always interesting to talk to these business owners and hear their stories about what brought them into business ownership and what they did to succeed.

Now as a business owner, I am still interested in the people and stories behind companies.

When I visit the website of a company I am not familiar with, I often find myself looking for and going to the About Us page to find out more about the company.

When I visit the About Us page, I hope to find out more about the people behind the company.  I expect to see a profile of the owner/owners or principle individuals.  I want to know who they are.  What is their background?  What is their story?  How did they get into business?  What awards have they won?

That’s what we did on the About Us page on the Thread Logic website.

Granted, the larger the company, the more difficult it is to tell the owner’s story and provide the background of the principles.  But for many smaller companies, this is the kind of information that can set them apart from their bigger rivals and give them a competitive advantage.

One of my real frustrations is going to the About Us page of a website and not finding out anything about the company or the people behind it.  In many of those cases, the About Us page is occupied with what I call, “filler content”.  And when I say filler content, it is usually “worthless filler content.”

One of the most popular pieces of “filler content” that is often found on that page is the company mission statement.  Seriously, that’s all you have to tell us about your company is a mission statement?  I don’t care about your mission statement.  It might mean something to you internally, but it means nothing to me as a potential customer.

I was just on another company website’s About Us page and it was filled with content about the services they offer.  Okay, I can see where someone might think that makes some sense.  But I would argue that kind of information, while important, belongs on another page like Services or Products, not About Us.

In my view, the About Us page of the website is your opportunity to tell the world about you and the people in your company.  After all, that is what makes your company unique.

Here’s the other side of it.  If I don’t find any useful information on the About Us page, it raises a red flag for me about the company.  I start to ask what is it they don’t want us to know.  Are they so uninteresting they can’t come up with anything to share?  If that’s the case, maybe I don’t want to do business with them.

So please, take a look at the About Us page on your website.  Don’t cast it off as something unimportant that no one visits.  People do go there.  People read that information. They want to find out more.  Give it to them.  Give them more reasons to do business with you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

