How a Bison Can Recharge Your Batteries

It was the end of a nice day of sightseeing and we were heading back to our campsite in the early evening. As we came over the crest, we could see a long line of cars stopped in front of us. What was the hold-up?

As we waited our turn and approached Hayden Valley, the cause of the stoppage became clear; we were in a bison traffic jam. Ahh…the joys of vacation and we couldn’t be happier!

I just returned from a family vacation to Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks. We had a great time. Highlights included horseback riding in Yellowstone, whitewater rafting on the Snake River outside Jackson, WY, a very scenic round of golf (for me) at the Jackson Hole Golf and Tennis Club and of course a bison traffic jam.

A recent Expedia study indicated that in 2009, the average American took 13 vacation days. I just took 10 of my 13 days!

During the early days of Thread Logic, it was difficult to take any vacation longer than a weekend. But now that the company is more established and we have an excellent staff to take of things while we are gone, extended time away has become a priority for my wife and me.

It amazes me just how much some good time away from the business clears the mind and re energizes the batteries. I come back with a clearer perspective. It seems like a lot of the day to day “junk” that can easily bog one down goes away and in the process clears the way for new thoughts and ideas.

Since my wife and I own Thread Logic, it is with us all the time. We discuss business at home, in the car on the way to family events, etc. But when we are on vacation, we really don’t discuss work issues. It’s not that we have any “rule” that says “No work talk on family vacation.” We just don’t talk about it. I think that really helps in the “cleansing” process.

I know a number of business owners who think they cannot leave the office for fear of everything falling apart. If that is the case, then I think they have done a really poor job of hiring and training your employees.

I have complete confidence in my staff to keep processing orders for custom embroidered apparel and taking care of customers. I know they will make good decisions while we are gone. On a trip like this, I may only call in once just to make sure the place hasn’t burned down. Otherwise, I let it go and let them do their jobs.

But it’s not to say I cut myself off cold-turkey from everything work related while on vacation. I pay attention to my email, orders coming in and the like. But I probably only spend 15 to 30 minutes a day doing those things. The rest is vacation time.

I want to encourage you to take some time away from your work or business. Get away for a while. Hit the reset button and recharge your batteries. Your business, your employees and your performance will all benefit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

